The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Life, the Universe and Everything

4 posters

Go down

Life, the Universe and Everything Empty Life, the Universe and Everything

Post by Mad for Chelsea Sat 15 Mar - 11:33

OK, so in this one it's mostly about the Universe:

http://www.theguardian.com/science/2014/mar/14/gravitational-waves-big-bang-universe-bicep

There is apparently speculation in the scientific community that a US-led research team is on the verge of confirming a major breakthrough discovery: that of "primordial gravitational waves". Now I'm not a massive expert on the subject (although it is one that fascinates me hugely), but as I understand it gravitational waves are like "echoes" of the Big Bang, or how the Universe came into being.

The speculation is that the team have detected "primordial gravitational waves", which would be a sign of what happened in the very very beginning of the Universe. The theory is that 10^(-34) seconds after the Big Bang, the Universe began to expand hugely, a process known as inflation, which helps to explain why the Universe is so remarkably uniform from place to place. Until now, there was no evidence for this Theory, but the detection of primordial gravitational waves would be a huge step to back it up, as it is believed that only inflation could amplify these waves to a detectable signal.

An anouncement is expected on Monday, exciting times!

Mad for Chelsea

Back to top Go down

Life, the Universe and Everything Empty Re: Life, the Universe and Everything

Post by ONETWOFOREVER Sat 15 Mar - 12:47

How could the Universe be created?

what was before it?

ONETWOFOREVER

Back to top Go down

Post by Mad for Chelsea Sat 15 Mar - 16:59

as I understand it, the whole concept of "before" the Big Bang is completely meaningless, since that is when Time began.