The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mid season break

+5
barragan
drive4show
Sand
sharrison01
JAS
9 posters

Go down

Mid season break Empty Mid season break

Post by JAS Mon 18 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm

For the 1st weekend in many many months I never picked up a club. I decided I needed a break and a reset.

I just felt I'd been playing too much golf over the past 3 months or so, particularly since the 72 hole longest day thing. I'd ticked up from 6.3 to 7.4 (the worst sustained run of poor form since I started playing). Confidence was low and to be honest I was getting to the point where I wasn't enjoying the game. There were signs of it turning around the last couple of rounds I played but I stayed committed to taking the break ( had arranged a spoil my daughter rotten weekend so couldn't pull out anyway).

I suppose I'll find out this week if a break was the right thing to do but I'm already champing at the bit and raring to go.

Has anybody else (particulary anyone who plays a lot) felt the need to take a break during what is effectively the peak of the golfing season?

JAS

Back to top Go down

Mid season break Empty Re: Mid season break

Post by sharrison01 Mon 18 Jul 2011, 1:02 pm

I don't really play enough to take a break (once a fortnight) but find that if I play 2/3 rounds on consecutive days then my golf gets really sloppy and after a few range sessions I am gagging to get back out on the course a couple of weeks later. Probably works similarly to the idea of taking a break as I find that not playing gives you a massive hunger for playing and can give you a fresh approach.

sharrison01

Back to top Go down

Post by Sand Mon 18 Jul 2011, 1:09 pm

Yeah i play quite a lot, probably about 3 times a week and have taken the weekend off on occasion, (Usually due to the weather more than getting away from the game, even though I probably needed too).