The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Why Green Bay ?

+19
Cheesehead United
adams_legend
TheBrownTown
The Mangler US_UK
skins4ever
Virgil_Caine
Grizzly
TM Moot
wow_junky
Leedscowboys
GB1919
CFCNick
Pekchenko
AdZacO
Thomond
calamity jane
Pr4wn
BamBam
Derbyblue
23 posters

Go down

Why Green Bay ? Empty Why Green Bay ?

Post by Guest Sat 14 May 2011, 7:24 pm

hi peeps,

I'm interested to know why any of you picked your team, whether it be geographical importance, name in hat etc, what exactly attracted you to your team and the sport.

When Channel4 brought American Football to our screens way back by showing the Super bowl in 85 (or was it further back in 82 ??? my memory ain't that good), but I do remember the centre page spread in a newspaper, listing all the teams.

As a complete noob, knowing nothing of how they played the game, rules or jargon, I simply looked down the list and picked out Green Bay Packers by virtue of the sound of the name.

I have followed them ever since, all through the Don Majkowski years and into the Favre era. Finally after what seemed an eternity, their first SB for 30 years and their subsequent win against the Patriots and now their last win, which I missed completely due to work. Doh!

Its been a nerve jangling following, and I'm sure its been the same for all fans of whatever team they support. but why did you decide on you team in the 1st place ??

Back to top Go down

Why Green Bay ? Empty Re: Why Green Bay ?

Post by Derbyblue Sat 14 May 2011, 7:32 pm

Just felt like choosing the Browns they were one of the first few teams I saw play (think it was against the Bengals). Then before last season I decided even though I'd only watched about half a season I should pick a team and it was between them and the Chargers, haven't got any real explanation why I chose the Browns.

Derbyblue

Back to top Go down

Post by BamBam Sat 14 May 2011, 7:56 pm