The v2 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

MotoGP records

5 posters

Go down

MotoGP records Empty MotoGP records

Post by Demon Racer Mon 24 Oct 2011, 11:35 pm

Hey guys forum newbie here with a quick question. Whenever MotoGP records are mentioned, why is Rossi said to be the record title winner in the Premier class? Agostini won 8 titles compared to Vale's 7. If I've made a mistake please correct me guys. Thanks.

Demon Racer

Back to top Go down

MotoGP records Empty Re: MotoGP records

Post by Belgarion of Riva Tue 25 Oct 2011, 11:57 am

Not sure about what you posted mate. Agostini's considered a fantastic racer and a lot his titles were won on the best bike available. Agostini was before my time but I've watched Rossi from his first day in the sport and he is a unique talent.

Rossi has won 9 titles in all classes, 7 at the top level, a 125cc title and a 250cc title.

People regard Rossi as the greatest because of his ability on track and his ability to develop a motorbike as well as make a dog of a bike work on race day. It's been tough going on the Duke this year but Vale will sort it out.

Belgarion of Riva

Back to top Go down

Post by Demon Racer Tue 25 Oct 2011, 6:12 pm

Ok thanks for clearing that up mate

Demon Racer

Back to top Go down

Post by skidd1 Tue 25 Oct 2011, 8:28 pm

Statistically Ago has won more titles in the top class since he has eight Premier class wins to Rossi's seven .He also won 5 or 6 350 world titles so he has more world championships as well .Rossi has more top class GP wins.Ago was a great TT rider as well
Stats dont tell the full story and magnificent a racer/ rider Ago was it was easier to do both series and the TT back in the day
Most who have seen both(and I only caught the tail end of Ago's career) regard Rossi as the greatest of all time and I share that view